25 & Life

English Version:

Being different from other kids, when i was a child, i didn’t really get so excited about my birthday. I guess i was quite a shy kid back then. My parents were a bit over protected and they did whatever it takes to shelter and protect me from life’s vicissitudes. I was out of the learning process that every kids have to figure how to cope with the outside world. That’s why i rarely did have birthday parties. Somehow the idea of a large group of people singing and looking at me while i am blowing out candles and opening presents gives me hives.

But everyone has to grow up sometime. The real world can be a cruel place. A bitch indeed. And one day we all have to face it without the help of our parents.
I moved to a big town to study at a specialized high school. Then i went to study abroad in Aachen in Germany. It changed my life forever thanks to my parents.
Traveling and going away gave me a vastly different perspective on everything: the world, us human being and my own life.
Mistaken were made but it is okay ’cause if you live long enough, you will make mistakes. What important is that i have learnt so much from them and moved on. It motivated me to work even harder. Seeing mistakes as true growth opportunities bring me closer to happiness. I grew up. I turned into someone who seems completely different.

But there is one thing that remains the same: the indifference attitude towards my own birthday. I don’t really love celebrating the day and most would think the opposite of love would be hate. But no, hate is a very strong word and “indifferent” seems more appropriate.
It’s not the fear of death. It’s not the fear of aging. But i am worried that i wasted too much time doing what i didn’t and don’t give a damn about. And now i am already 25 years old and just start doing what i love. Passengers in Belgium belows 26 years old can take the advantage of the special “Go Pass 1” ticket allowing any single journey anywhere within Belgium for only 6€. It sounds all of the sudden so horrified. Two more years and i am overaged and will be disqualified from the youth ticket.
Ain’t that a sign that the best, beautiful and gorgeous time of youth is about to leave?

Man starts to realize that now you do not only live for yourself but for other people too. It may be your parents, your loved ones or both… Because who knows what happens next, maybe one day some of them will no longer be around…
Freedom and grown-up come with full responsibility. In Vietnam/Asia our parents have a different mindset. We grow up, innocently absorbing and latching onto their values, hopes and aspirations, unwittingly making them our own. And of course, there’s society’s standard which also strongly influence our behaviours and the way we choose to live our lives. That being said, we have to fulfill their dreams too. And in most cases, it would be a “solid career” that will get us far in life and can sustain us in the future financially.
It always start like that: “All your friends have already a job but you are still playing around chasing your dream.”

“Balancing your family’s dream and your own is a major hallmark of adulthood.”

I want to prove myself. I want to speed up things. But it doesn’t work like that. The pressure of work and family and billion other things bears down upon me…
I said to myself that never is too late but still i wish countless times that if i could turn back time and define my dream, realize my dream sooner.
Right now i can see my dream right there still it’s so far from me. Or not. I don’t know. Whenever i have an emotional break down, negative thoughts kick in just like that.

Besides, the idea that time flies so fast scares the hell out of me sometimes. As you hurtle through it at the light speed, it’s rare that you get a chance to sit back and remember stuffs. I am scared that when i grow old, i will lose old memories in my head and have nothing to trigger them.
It already did. I am starting to lose them – the most prized possessions to make sense of my life – one by one is slipping through my hands. So i told myself that i better write everything down like that to get them back.

Nevertheless there are two birthday presents that i’ll never forget. I can feel it in me and around me.
A music box.
My grandpa gave it to me when i was little (around 6, 7 years old). It was so beautiful.
A piano-shaped, wooden brown color music box with clockwork mechanism in the back and gorgeous red velvet cover inside. I loved it so much and always kept it by me for a really long time. The melody is gone i can’t get it back but i still dream about it every now and then. For some reasons i don’t even know. This image just keep popping up into my mind.

The another “birthday present” was my very first DSLR camera – a Nikon D90. That was October 10, 2010 – the day i turned into 22. So i bought myself something nice and pretty to celebrate.
It was just a spontaneous decision – a camera for travel and snapshots. Because back then i hardly knew anything about photography. But turned out it was one of my life-changing decision.

“Yesterday my life was headed in one direction and today in another.” – Cloud Atlas.

Think what a remarkable and unduplicatable thing it is to be you. A million things make us who we are. You change one, you change everything. Because you were meant to be different. The whole world is one big machine that never comes with any extra part. They always come with the exact amount they need. So you or me, we couldn’t be an extra part. We are here for a reason. We must have a purpose in life. We have to live our life to the fullest. So in the end when we look back we can tell myself: what you have achieved doesn’t matter but how you live your life.

This sounds too romantic and poetic and like i said, the real world is a bitch. There was a time we must let go the life we have planned, so as to accept the one that is waiting for us.

“This world spins from the same unseen forces that twist our hearts.” – Cloud Atlas.

There was a time that i felt totally depressed and lonely. I felt like there is no one I could relate to. I felt like a social outcast. The sickness went hand in hand and created a negative downward spiral. I was stuck in a cycle. Part of me liked me lonely, sad, and miserable. And then a series of bad/sad things happened. I was destroyed in the abyss of desperation. I though it’s over.
But then came photography. Photography has taken me on a journey of self discovery. It saved my life. It brought me back to life.
Photography has taught me so many things and yet i can’t still get enough of it.
It has helped me to appreciate this wonderful, precious world more than ever. Capture and freeze memories in a creative and beautiful way images that would move people, communicate a message and evoke emotions make me feel fulfilled.
I finally found my dream, my purpose in life. I have the guts to follow and take this dream seriously. No more halfway attempt, no more confusion. Living my dream is one of toughest things to do yet it brings me truly, pure happiness. I am gonna fight. I am willing to do whatever it takes to my dream a reality.

 

Vietnamese Version:

Khác với những đứa trẻ khác hồi bé mình không quá phấn khích với sinh nhật và việc được tổ chức sinh nhật. Có lẽ một phần nhiều là do ngày xửa ngày xưa khá nhút nhát. Được bố mẹ chăm sóc bao bọc kĩ càng đến tận cấp II không được tiếp xúc với xã hội mấy nên trí óc non nớt vẫn còn lạ lẫm với thế giới bên ngoài. Chỉ nghĩ đến việc đứng trước đám đông reo hò, hát hò trong khi bản thân thổi nến mở quà là đã thấy không thoải mái rồi.

Nhưng rồi ai cũng phải trưởng thành thôi. Hết cấp II lên Hà Nội học chuyên Tổng hợp. Rồi vào đại học. Rồi sang Đức du học. Vấp ngã nhiều mà lớn khôn cũng chẳng ít. Có thể nói giờ đã lột xác trở thành một con người hoàn toàn khác xưa về nhiều mặt, có thể tạm gọi là chín chắn, bạo dạn và trải đời hơn. Tất cả là nhờ bố mẹ cả.

Duy chỉ có sự hờ hững với sinh nhật của chính mình vẫn chẳng hề đổi thay. Chắc chắn là không phải vì lí do ngày xưa nữa rồi.
Đâu đó còn thấp thoáng một nỗi sợ hãi vô cớ và vớ vẩn. Rằng mình vừa đã bước sang những ngày đầu tiên của tuổi 25. Như ở Bỉ thì có vé tàu rẻ tiền dành cho những người trẻ dưới 26 tuổi (6€ đi đến đâu trong nước Bỉ cũng được). Chột dạ nghĩ mình chỉ còn hai năm nữa là quá tuổi được ưu tiên.
Đó há chả phải là một dấu hiệu cho thấy sắp hết khoảng thời gian tuyệt vời nhất của tuổi trẻ hay sao?
Đã sắp qua rồi cái tuổi sống tự do tự tại và sống cho riêng bản thân mình.
Làm sao có thể vừa sống vô tư lự không âu lo như thế và sống vì người khác cùng một lúc.
Trách nhiệm và áp lực đang dần đè nặng lên vai. Bản thân sốt ruột. Bố mẹ sốt ruột: “Bạn bè bằng tuổi nó đi làm hết rồi đấy mà mày cứ lông bông, theo đuổi giấc mơ mãi.”
Vừa cảm thông vừa bực tức các cụ. Mình vẫn chưa đạt được những gì mình muốn, vẫn còn một chút xa xôi cho đến một ngày giấc mơ, đam mê thành thật.
Đấy nhiều khi cứ tự gây áp lực lên chính mình như thế mặc dù mới bắt đầu theo đuổi ước mơ gần hai năm chứ mấy. Cứ ước giá mà được quay lại năm năm trước để tìm đến nhiếp ảnh sớm hơn…

Còn nhiều lúc thì lại cảm thấy sợ thời gian trôi tiếp vì cảm giác nó chạy như bay, những kí ức kỉ niệm cũ cứ như dần tuột khỏi tay. Mơ hồ như nhìn qua làn sương khói mù mịt buổi sớm mai – chỉ còn từng mảnh rời rạc hỗn độn. Nói đùa chứ nếu không chịu chăm chỉ viết lại như này thì đến đời con cháu chắc chẳng còn gì để kể cho chúng nó mất.
Đặc biệt lại là những chuyện liên quan đến sinh nhật. Dù vậy nhưng vẫn có hai món quà sinh nhật để lại dấu ấn rất đậm nét.
Một là cái hộp nhạc ông nội tặng hồi sáu bảy tuổi gì đó không chắc chắn lắm. Nó có hình một cái đàn piano con con với dây cót ở dưới đáy. Vặn vài vòng là chạy một khúc nhạc rất hay dù giờ cũng chẳng nhớ nổi giai điệu nữa. Chỉ nhớ cái đàn màu gỗ nâu bóng loáng trông thật sự giống một cái đàn thật thu nhỏ, bên trong dây đàn thì có lớp phủ vải nhung đỏ. Nói chung là sờ, nhìn hay nghe đều rất thích vì hàng mang xách tay từ châu Âu về thì phải.
Cho đến tận hôm nay cái hình ảnh chiếc đàn đó vẫn thỉnh thoảng ùa về trong suy nghĩ vu vơ hay trong những giấc mơ mộng mị hỗn độn. Vì một lí do gì đó mà ngay cả bản thân mình cũng chẳng hiểu nổi tại sao.

Còn “món quà” thứ hai là chiếc máy ảnh DSLR đầu tiên có trong đời – một em Nikon D90. Hồi đó là sắp đến 10.10.2010, sinh nhật 22 tuổi – số khá đẹp nên đã quyết định dùng khoản tiền tiết kiệm bấy lâu mua tặng mình thứ gì đó làm kỉ niệm. Cũng chỉ là một quyết định vu vơ ngẫu hững – mua về chụp choẹt lưu niệm, du lịch thôi chứ vào thời điểm mua cũng chưa biết gì (nhiều) về ảnh ọt cả. Nhưng có lẽ đó là một trong những quyết định làm thay đổi cả cuộc đời.

“Mới ngày nào đời tôi còn đang ở ngả đường này vậy mà giờ đây nó đã rẽ sang một hướng khác.” – Trích Cloud Atlas.

Nếu cả thế giới này là một cỗ máy khổng lồ thì mỗi chúng ta là một bộ phận nhỏ của nó, có liên quan mật thiết và ảnh hưởng đến nó dù là trực tiếp hay gián tiếp. Không ai là thừa thãi cả. Cũng không có ai giống nhau vì hàng triệu yếu tố cấu thành nên con người giúp phân biệt mỗi chúng ta với nhau. Nhưng chắc tất cả đều có chung một câu hỏi giống nhau: mình muốn làm gì trong đời, mình muốn trở thành ai, phải sống như nào và sống để làm gì.

Đời người chỉ có một nên ta phải tận hưởng thế giới một cách trọn vẹn nhất. Để đến khi đến ga cuối cùng nhìn lại thì ta thấy rằng: không phải mình đạt được gì mới quan trọng, quan trọng là mình đã trải qua và sống như thế nào.
Lí thuyết là vậy nhưng đời đâu phải như mơ. Con người là một thực thể cô đơn. Đã có một thời xa vắng khi mình cảm thấy lạc lõng và hững hờ với cuộc đời – một linh hồn lẻ loi, xa lạ, bất lực giữa dòng đời bất tận. Ông trời như muốn trêu ngươi con người khi cùng lúc đó khó khăn và tổn thương kéo đến nối tiếp nhau dồn dập đẩy ta xuống vực sâu tuyệt vọng. Ta chán nản, mệt mỏi buông xuôi tưởng chừng như mọi chuyện đã chấm dứt.

“Con tạo xoay vần bởi những thế lực vô hình. Chúng thích làm tim ta quằn quại.” – Trích Cloud Atlas.

Đúng lúc đó nhiếp ảnh đã vực mình dậy, kéo mình trở lại với những gì tốt đẹp nhất. Nó là cầu nối kết nối với thế giới, để sống hết mình và hoàn thiện hơn xưa. Chưa bao giờ lại thấy tốt hơn như bây giờ. Có một giấc mơ và có đủ quyết tâm, tự tin và đam mê để theo đuổi nó sẽ làm bạn hạnh phúc. Có lẽ vì thế mà sinh nhật đã trở thành một ngày ý nghĩa hơn trước khi ta có thể nhìn nhận xem lại mình đã đạt được những gì trong năm qua, đã tiến bộ như thế nào, đã đến gần hơn chút ít với mục tiêu của bản thân… Từ đó cố gắng quẳng bớt lo lắng đi mà sống theo những gì trái tim mách bảo. Rằng ta sẽ làm được những gì mình muốn.

Leave a Reply

